Local Schools and Others Join WCOED Membership

Wyandot Skilled Nursing Logo

The Wyandot County Office of Economic Development is happy to welcome the two remaining school districts with a physical location in Wyandot as its newest board members.

The Carey Exempted Village School District encompasses approximately 50 square miles in Wyandot County with portions extending into Seneca County, and serves roughly 880 students at the district’s new main facility in Carey. Carey Schools will be represented on the WCOED board by Superintendent Mike Wank and High School Principal Peter Cole.

The Mohawk Local School District serves close to 1,000 students who live in the villages of Sycamore, Melmore, McCutchenville, and surrounding rural areas in Wyandot County, Seneca County, and Crawford County. The school district will be represented by Superintendent Ken Ratliff.

Carey Exempted Village Schools and Mohawk Local Schools join the organization as the WCOED embarks to implement the new Community Opportunity workforce development system rollout to as many local high school students as possible. The membership dues collected from all three of the school board members will be used to fund the ongoing maintenance and marketing costs associated with the program.

Wyandot Skilled Nursing LogoThe WCOED is also pleased to welcome the Wyandot County Skilled Nursing and Rehabilitation Center as another community partner who also joined the local economic development effort last month. The facility has provided advanced nursing and rehabilitation services locally since 1869, and is committed to enriching the lives of its residents, helping them become healthier, more active and able to reach their highest level of independence.  The organization will be represented by its Administrator, Greg Lonsway, on the WCOED board.